Client Testimonials

Recent Google Reviews

Kasey Kaser
Kasey Kaser
17:43 22 Aug 18
Contacted these guys after my husband's car accident. They were very helpful and keep in contact with you which is a major thing for us. We had fired his attorney and hired Attorney Buchanan. When he couldn't call us back his partner Randy did and that was a great experience. We met with Sean in person and everybody in the office was friendly and eager to help us out. Great costumes great team! Thanks.read more
Brandy Esposito
Brandy Esposito
14:10 21 Aug 18
I have never spoken with a more professional and caring staff. The legal professionals here address your problem(s)with authentic care and explain the best options available in your situation. The fees or rates are not even broached until after they have heard and reviewed your informarion. They will call you back quickly and let you know if they can realistically assist. Should I need legal assistance in the future, this will be my first and only choiceread more
Barbara Burtnett
Barbara Burtnett
18:58 27 Jul 18
Attorney Robert Horton was excellent! He handled our motorcycle accident claims when no other attorney would even take our case. We were very pleased with his services and he handled everything in a professional and timely manner. I would highly recommend him and will refer family and friends to him if they need an attorney.read more
Charlie Thrash
Charlie Thrash
22:17 16 Jul 18
I had a simple question that they answered today. I used them 10 to 12 years ago for something I'm sure I don't want to remember. But they were great back then and very gracious with their time today
Dontay Colvin
Dontay Colvin
21:16 22 Jun 18
Excellent group of Lawyers, ... immediately I received , compassion, and empathy when I discussed my case/claim even before I became an official client. Lawyers that offer this type of service is really hard to find these days... Once again this is a excellent Law Firm!!!!read more
Alexis Geary
Alexis Geary
21:10 20 Jun 18
The people here are extremely friendly and will bend over backwards to help you if they can. If they can’t help with your situation then they will help you find someone who can. Thank you Randy for talking with me and helping me out.read more
jimmy brown
jimmy brown
18:58 15 Jun 18
I want to thank everyone for their professionalism. I have a hernia mesh case with them and every time I call they answer all my questions, doesn't matter how many I ask. When I leave a message they call right back. They treat me as valued client.read more
Kathleen Robinson
Kathleen Robinson
22:32 04 Jun 18
I spent 30 minutes on the phone with a very intelligent, caring guy (I wish I could remember his name). I need to move on in my life but I am afraid to admit my marriage is failed. He walked me through it - like he gave me some vision about being in a better place. I'll definitely call him when I get everything together.read more
imokhai okolo
imokhai okolo
15:24 18 May 18
I went online to their online chat feature. They responded immediately and put me right in contact with an attorney over the phone that walked through my entire case with me free of charge. They are more than willing to assist with any legal matter you have. Great and fast service!read more
Peggy Mares
Peggy Mares
13:21 26 Apr 18
These guys are awesome. I spoke with Randy today regarding an issue & wanted to see what my legal recourse was & he took the time to give me advice. I will definitely be keeping their number in my phone.read more
EDJ Jones
EDJ Jones
01:11 21 Apr 18
After speaking with multiple attorneys I called Slater & Zurz to get some information about how to dispute a traffic citation that I received. They actually gave me FREE legal advice!!! They genuinely care about helping people and are not just out to get your money. I would recommend them to anyone in need of a great lawyer who actually cares about helping the people they represent.read more
Benjamin Vue
Benjamin Vue
13:22 17 Apr 18
Slater & Zurz is an excellent firm. I was assisted by John Lynette. He was always on top of things and made sure to help protect my family and I. He's very easy to work with and easy to communicate with. I had gotten into two different auto accident. One being a hit and run, the other a car rear ended our van and totaled it. John helped my family in both cases to make sure we were taken care. The case where we got rear ended took kind of long is because the people that were at fault, their attorney took forever on their end, but John went above and beyond to talk to those other attorneys and got them to hurry up and settled our case quickly. Thank You John Lynette. Ben and Nouread more
J Owens
J Owens
18:35 14 Apr 18
Slater & Zurz was very effective and persistent in tracking down the driver of a hit and skip. I supplied the license plate number and they took it from there. I would recommend Slater and Zurz to anyone.read more
Dana Pavlik
Dana Pavlik
22:26 12 Apr 18
Ever have your attorney call you back WITHIN 24 HOURS? I didn’t either! UNTIL these folks were hired. They even answer their phones!!! 😳😳. I was so shocked, at first, I was talking so fast to get it all out before I was cut off...THAT didn’t happen either! What what?? Really, these guys have YOUR best interest in mind from start to finish. I was impressed! Thanks Rob!!read more
Renea F
Renea F
23:07 11 Apr 18
Called them after I was in an accident with my son. We were both injured and they responded fast. When I called for an update they promptly responded. They were always quick to be courteous. And they got us great settlements ASAP. Fast, prompt, courteous and efficient. Great attorneys. Thank you!read more
Cathy Pancero
Cathy Pancero
18:50 30 Mar 18
My mother and I are totally thrilled with Brandon Dean. He was both passionate and compassionate after we lost my father. We knew nothing about nursing home law and he was incredibly patient and kind. From the very bottom of our hearts we thank you.read more
Joan S
Joan S
22:41 27 Mar 18
Rick Zurz was my attorney for a traffic accident I was in last year. He handled everything in a professional and timely manner. Slater and Zurz staff was very helpful. I could not have been more pleased with the outcome. I would recommend Slater and Zurz to anyone who is in a car accident.read more
Mike Conley
Mike Conley
19:00 09 Mar 18
I found Slater & Zurz after a web search, 1st time I've ever needed a lawyer, they had me talk to Randy, it was great. he stayed on the phone with me until I had asked all my questions. Never felt like I was rushed he answered them all . The day next I was pleasantly surprised when he called back the to see how things were going. Great service, and great 1st time experience for me. Thank you Randy and thank you Slater and Zurz.read more
Jennifer Zenk
Jennifer Zenk
20:57 26 Feb 18
I recently had some questions regarding a legal matter concerning my divorce proceedings. Although they were not the original firm involved in my case , Randy took a great deal of time answering my questions free of charge! An attorney that is willing to spend that kind of time on the phone with me and not ask for a dime is okay in my book! They will no doubt be who I turn to in the future. A+ !read more
olamide afolabi
olamide afolabi
17:44 26 Jan 18
I would like to say a big THANK YOU!! to Randy at Slater & Zurz. I cannot begin to describe the amount of compassion and grace he extended to me when I called the office hoping to speak to someone about the legal bind I found myself in. Even though my case was not an area that the firm dealt in (which meant I couldn’t hire the firm) Randy took the time to talk me through my situation. Not only did he do that, he also followed up with me to make sure everything was under control. If Randy is a true representation of how his firm operates, then Slater & Zurz is a shining example of how we should treat each other as human beings regardless of who they are or what we get out of it. I truly believe that God saw my need and he sent me Randy and Slater & Zurz. Thank you Randy, I am very grateful.read more

Recent Facebook Reviews

Haydn A Thomas
Haydn A Thomas
2018-08-07T19:28:16+0000
Slater and Zurz have provided professional and excellence service. I would recommend them to anyone who is looking for a solid team to support them through their difficult times.
Duane Thoroughgood
Duane Thoroughgood
2018-07-29T17:37:19+0000
Think the world of these guys
Carmen Kuss
Carmen Kuss
2018-07-14T19:45:45+0000
Contacted me on a Saturday after I spent the night before in the hospital wit a dog bite. Treated me with kindness
Rita R. Graham
Rita R. Graham
2018-07-05T15:34:14+0000
Mr. Pisani is a wonderful person and attorney. He attained a judgment for me and was dutiful in his services...prompt, knowledgeable, a good listener and kind. I highly recommend Slater & Zurz.
Mu Settles
Mu Settles
2018-06-07T23:55:06+0000
We hired Slater & Zurz because of they'er expertise in dog bites. Sean Buchanan was excellent, got us over $10,000 and taught that awful dog owner a lesson.
Lynn Evans
Lynn Evans
2018-05-25T13:10:43+0000
They did such a great job on my sons dog bite case. The 1st firm I hired was terrible!! I won't mention any names (begins with a K). Slater & Zurz was exactly what I needed. Thanks.

Client hit by a drunk driver

“On April 15th, I was struck head-on by a drunk driver at about 9:15 in the morning in Barberton, Ohio. I was transported to General Hospital in Akron.

When my husband contacted our insurance company, they assured him that he did not need to hire an attorney, which of course set off an alarm. He just randomly went to the yellow pages of the phone book and chose Slater & Zurz LLP…. and we are so thankful that he did!

With the help of the entire team of people at Slater & Zurz (especially James Slater and Rick Zurz), we were able to concentrate on my recovery while they did all the work necessary to handle our case and deal with our insurance company (since the driver of the other car did not have insurance).

They kept us informed of every step that they took, asked our advice and opinion and gave us excellent counsel on how to deal with the situation. They could not have been any more accommodating with visits to our home in the early stages, so that I wouldn’t have to travel any more than need be.

They provided words of encouragement during the entire process. They helped us get a settlement from our insurance company to take care of all the expenses we had which included medical bills, obtaining a new vehicle and pain and suffering.

The outcome of our legal matter exceeded our expectations. Although it took many months for a settlement, we believe it was fair and have the law office of Slater & Zurz LLP to thank for that. We would certainly use their services again and recommend them to others.”

Sandy B.

If you are a current or former client, we’d love to hear your feedback!

Auto Accident Victim

“I would highly recommend Slater & Zurz LLP. I was in an accident a while back and didn’t know what to do when the other insurance company began harassing me over the phone about my injuries. I didn’t trust them so I called Jim Slater at Slater & Zurz LLP and told him my situation.

He told me not to worry and that he would handle the situation. I never heard from the other insurance company again and the case was handled in a very timely matter. I am very pleased with the results and recommend him to my friends and family.

Jim Slater is the kind of lawyer that delivers more then he promises. I was involved in a bike accident and Jim Slater personally handled my case from start to finish. His firm required no money down for expenses or a retainer. The case started and ending according the to the time table the Jim laid out for me when we first met. I would highly recommend Jim and his firm for any and all legal issues. Yes we won and I got a few bucks.

Mr. James Slater has played a major role in my life for 20 plus years. He is not only a lawyer, but he is a friend. Even after your case is over he will still be there to advise you. My family, my wife and I love him very much for not only what he has done for us, but for who he is.”

Tommy and Nora Higgins

Read more auto accident and personal injury testimonials

“Jim Slater is the kind of lawyer that delivers more then he promises.”

– Tommy & Nora Higgins

Satisfied Client:

“Mr. Zurz has been our family attorney for over 10 years and we could not possibly be more satisfied with he and his staff. They are extremely efficient and he is very cultured when it came to any legal questions or needs that have come up.

He made us very comfortable and treated us like old friends rather than just a number on his customer list. Not only have we referred him to all of our friends but we refer him to family and we feel this is the biggest compliment we can pay him.

Lastly, he guides us honestly and has always acted with the utmost integrity. Mr. Zurz and his staff have earned our wholehearted endorsement. We are happy to extend this reference or answer questions to anyone considering their law offices.”

Respectfully Submitted, Rick & Lisa Devenport Barberton, OH

Client received payment from a delinquent account.

Akron Ohio Law Firm Testimonials - Ben Dickey“Slater & Zurz LLP provides my northeast Ohio based company with very effective legal representation at critical times.

My company has been involved in two separate cases where we were trying to collect large sums of money that were due and payable. When these accounts became delinquent, I contacted Jim Slater to have him step in and represent my company. In both of these cases, Mr. Slater delivered outstanding results.

In the first case, he was able to collect the full amount owed plus prejudgment interest, post judgment interest and all attorneys fees.

In the other case, he was able to collect the entire $500,000 owed within 60 days.”

Ben Dickey
Patriot Water Treatment, LLC

Read more business client testimonials

Read more reviews of our firm on Google

A Lifelong Client:

“Attorney Jim Slater of Slater & Zurz has been our family attorney for 40+ years. Our family life has included marriage, working and raising five children. While life presents many opportunities, some of them are not always good.

When those times arose and we needed legal advice and/or representation, Attorney Jim Slater listened with compassion and provided qualified, professional and confidential legal services. Our association with the Slater & Zurz organization began in 1977.

When another firm negotiated a domestic relations settlement that was not equitable, Mr. Slater accompanied us to court, gaining paternal custody and additional visitation at a time when was certainly not the norm.

Over the years, Mr. Slater has provided legal counsel and representation when members of our family were injured in several car accidents by insured and uninsured motorists alike.

An Illegal stop by a individual masquerading as a police officer brought us to Jim’s office again, this time seeking advice on this disturbing sequence of events. Attorneys from the firm represented us in this court case which sought damages for illegal detainment.

Attorneys from the firm represented us in court as we sought a restraining order against an individual stalking and harassing our special needs daughter. Regardless of the situation, it is comforting to know that the attorneys of Slater & Zurz are there to look out for our best interests.

Slater & Zurz have improved the quality of our lives, protecting us from situations that could have caused additional emotional and/or financial hardship which ultimately resulted in our peace of mind.”

Cathy Giebel

“Slater & Zurz have improved the quality of our lives, protecting us from situations that could have caused additional emotional and/or financial hardship which ultimately resulted in our peace of mind.”

– Cathy Giebel

Child Dog Bite Victim

“Our youngest son was attacked by a neighbor’s dog when he was 5 years old. The neighbor’s insurance company wanted to give us a minute lump sum of money and call the case closed. We felt that our son deserved much more for what he had gone through and had to now deal with noticeable scarring on his head.

Long story short, we contacted Slater and Zurz LLP and they were absolutely wonderful. They were very friendly and seemed genuinely empathetic to our son’s situation. They were also able to more than double the amount that the insurance wanted to pay for our son’s pain and suffering. Thank you so much!”

Theresa Kelley

Read more dog bite case testimonials

Nursing Home Abuse Case

“I have to tell you this is a GREAT law firm. My mom used them when she felt my grandfather Pops died from negligence at a nursing home. Slater & Zurz LLP listened; kept mom informed, consoled and counseled her, aggressively won the case and gave her and our whole family closure.

Pops isn’t here and the only way to get an apology was for them to write the check and without the expertise of Slater & Zurz LLP we would never of had closure – I recommend them for anyone who needs a serious attorney and a GOOD attorney.

They left no questions unanswered and I thank them for helping my mom with this horrific incident!”

Red

Read more nursing home abuse and neglect testimonials

One client, two success stories

“I would like to put in my two cents about my experience with Slater and Zurz LLP Law Firm in Akron. I have had two different attorneys represent me in different matters all of which have been successfully resolved. Attorney James Slater handled my auto accident injury claim. He was professional and no nonsense. There were times when I did not think I had any rights but he convinced me otherwise and a fair settlement was reached.

Attorney Jeff Hawkins was the attorney that James Slater referred me to about my divorce. Also, because of my marital issues I was unable to access my retirement income for over seven months. I was about to lose my home, my car and was unable to pay other bills until Attorney Jeff Hawkins took over my case. In a matter or what seemed like a couple of weeks, Mr. Hawkins had my divorce handled and all my retroactive back retirement pay was in the mail! He was a life saver as far as I’m concerned.

I had previously dealt with attorneys from other law firms one of which charged a tidy sum of money yet treated me like I was a nobody.

The attorneys at Slater and Zurz get RESULTS!! They are courteous and professional. I will always go back to Slater and Zurz for any legal issues I might have.”

Karen McGregor

“The attorneys at Slater and Zurz get RESULTS!! They are courteous and professional. I will always go back to Slater and Zurz for any legal issues I might have.”

– Karen McGregor

Divorce Client

“Where do I begin. I was going through one of the toughest issues I had ever experienced in my life….DIVORCE! When I was served with the divorce papers it was as though someone had just punched me so hard that I was in between the realm of being conscious and knocked out. I was numb to everything. I could not think straight. I couldn’t function. I was out of the house and I did not have a place to stay. How I got there I, still to this day, do not understand but if it wasn’t for the personal and professional care I received from the law office of Slater & Zurz, I truly do not believe that I would be the same person I am today.

I entered the law firm desperately confused, depressed and afraid of the unknown that was in my immediate future. I didn’t know what to do or where to begin but Rick (Zurz) and his staff guided me through it.

During our first meeting at his office, Rick assured me that, although this was my first time going through this, he and his staff had been through these legal proceedings thousands of times. I also remember that Rick told me to try and relax and let him do the worrying from now on. He told me what to expect through the process and how the process was going to unfold. It was so calming to know that I was not going through it alone and that I had a professional on my side to guide me. That alone meant more to me than anyone will ever know. If I had any questions or concerns, Rick was always there with either a new direction of thought, calming advice and at times, a joke to raise my spirits when I really needed it.

I don’t remember the exact phone conversation or which meeting it was but I do remember that I began to realize that I was going to be OK. The world as I knew it was changing but I was going to be changing with it. Today, I have a new relationship with a wonderful woman (as Rick told me I would find), my kids still love me very much (as Rick told me they would) and I am looking forward to a different but wonderful life. Rick, thanks is not enough….you truly saved my life! You are a true friend.”

Joe Belloni

Read more divorce client testimonials

Business Client

“I have used Slater and Zurz for 25 years. In a long business career, I have had 3 instances of major business litigation. Two of the three cases were clearly won, the third was settled to my clear benefit.

Jim Slater has been an advisor, well beyond his role as an attorney, his wisdom has been apparent, and valuable. Rick Zurz is the litigator and he is the sharpest attorney in any room. He knows the case, including details, as well as I. They always take the high road, and this is apparent to judges and juries. I highly recommend Slater and Zurz.”

James Coffelt

Satisfied Client

I chose Slater and Zurz because of their ability to handle a wide array of cases. My legal concern was addressed in a timely manner. Furthermore, the total hours for which I was billed compared quite favorably with a benchmark from another firm.

I have also found that Slater and Zurz attorneys and staff return phone calls in a reasonable amount of time. Overall, I have been quite satisfied with how they have represented my interests.”

Alan
Read more testimonials from satisfied clients

“I chose Slater and Zurz because of their ability to handle a wide array of cases.”

– Alan

Get in touch with us today!

Call us at 1-888-534-4850 or fill out the form below to receive immediate legal assistance. We offer free consultations with no time limits. Available 24/7/365. We are here to help!

Please note, case results depend on a variety of factors which are unique to each case. Therefore, past case results do not guarantee or predict a similar result in any future cases undertaken by our law firm.

Google Rating
4.8